Faculty Senate Meeting – August 12, 2019

(2:30 pm - 3:38 pm)

Staff present:

 Karolyn Harrell, Katie Cali, Dawn Brownlow, Rebecca Wright, Jenafer Sheridan, Cary Riche, Tanya Torregano, Beth Lang, Lisa Underwood, Amanda Brammer, David Taylor, Meghan Martinez, Chaunee Brouillette, Sarah Alford, Jennifer Dannels

Chancellor Wainwright:

- Faculty Fellow award for next year LCTCS wants Faculty Senate to make selection nomination due 8/29/19; Dr. Roberts has criteria for award and wants us to formalize process for future years; could also be NTCC Outstanding Faculty Member if meets criteria; up to \$8,500 for 1 year, may be extended 1 additional year, to advance educational pathway (i.e., Doctoral) faculty member must be currently enrolled
- Pay Scale achieved implementation of pay scale increase in 2 years due to growth; will
 continue to keep competitive; NTCC at average or above; we also received funds to
 support SACS and librarians (from state funds)
- 100% refund in tuition until August 26 per Dr. Roberts; working on purge and locking in funds to help with the chaos

Lu Guthery from LED Fast Start Project:

- trying to develop non-credit program to take college student to business/industry-ready
- asked for our input about what to include in course: communication skills, interview skills, how to write email/tone; problem solving; critical thinking; money and time management; professionalism in general; appearance; presentation skills, leadership skills, organization, work-life balance, social media professionalism, cell phone usage; job-hunting and creating tech portfolio
- possibly will award badges to put on resume, Linked-In profile
- modular –but needs some sort of face-to-face component

President Karolyn Harrell:

- run-down of what the Faculty Senate does primarily review/discuss new policies and how she votes on issues
- will have 1 meeting each month if can't attend, must send a proxy to take your place; will send out survey soon to choose days for meetings; will continue to alternate campuses
- Faculty Senate puts out 1 newsletter each month
- all senators should send headshot to Mr. Ngo to include on faculty senate website
- voted on committee heads and members

Committees:

1. Public Relations:

- David Taylor (Committee Head)
- Jennifer Dannels
- Lisa Underwood
- Beth Lang
- Rebecca Wright
- Cary Riche

2. Finance:

- Dawn Brownlow (Committee Head)
- Amanda Branner
- Jenafer Sheridan
- Chaunee Brouillette
- Brandy Williams

3. Faculty Affairs/Professional Development:

- Katie Cali (Committee Head)
- Sarah Alford
- Meghan Martinez
- Tanya Torregano