Skip to Main Content

Scholarships Awarded at Chancellor's Sunrise Breakfast

Scholarships Awarded at Chancellor's Sunrise Breakfast

Dr. William Wainwright, Chancellor, Northshore Technical Community College, Dr. Kim Hunter Reed, Commissioner of Education


Lacombe, LA.—Northshore Technical Community College and the Northshore College Enhancement Foundation have again awarded a record number of scholarships to Northshore Technical Community College students for the 2022-2023 academic year. The scholarships support incoming and returning students from each of the college’s campuses in St. Tammany, Tangipahoa, St. Helena, Washington, and Livingston Parishes.  Scholarship recipients and donors were recognized at the annual Chancellor’s Sunrise Breakfast on April 14, 2022. 

NTCC Provost Dr. Daniel Roberts welcomed guests and led the invocation. Dr. Kim Hunter Reed, LA Commissioner of Higher Education, presented the keynote address. She opened by congratulating the students who received scholarships and thanking the private donors and businesses that provide the funding for the scholarships, thereby investing in the students, the community, and the state. “We know that education is the path forward. Education and training are a necessity to participate in the knowledge economy,” said Reed. “Our colleges and universities play a significant role in meeting students where they are, and putting them on a path to success.” Reed added, “NTCC has the highest dual enrollment in the state, the largest number of high school students who are attending college.  Every student should have access to dual enrollment.”

NTCC Chancellor Dr. William Wainwright followed Dr. Reed, also congratulating the scholarship recipients. “Talent development is central to the mission of Northshore Technical Community College,” said Wainwright. “Record attendance at this year’s Chancellor’s Sunrise Breakfast demonstrates the value of our graduates and the power of education in transforming communities and economies.”  Wainwright expressed appreciation to the NTCC faculty and staff for their contributions to the college’s employee giving campaign, which funded 7 student scholarships and will support faculty and staff development grants this year.

Scholarships sponsored by Weeks Marine, Inc., were presented to 5 students. Alexander Antonio (Covington) received the Richard Weeks Endowed Maritime Scholarship, which is awarded annually to a student who has completed at least 12 hours and enrolled in Maritime Technology.  The endowment was established in tribute to Weeks Marine CEO Richard “Dick” Weeks. Grant White (Mandeville) received the Weeks Marine/Louisiana Construction Education Foundation Scholarship for Construction Pathways. Samuel Conerly (Pontchatoula) received the Weeks Marine Endowed Scholarship in Welding; Christian Smalley (Tickfaw) received the Weeks Marine Endowed Scholarship in Electrician; Hayley Medders (Independence) received the inaugural Weeks Marine Endowed Scholarship for First-Generation College Students. The Weeks Marine, Inc. scholarships were established by generous contributions from Weeks Marine, one of the leading marine construction, dredging, and tunneling firms in North America. Weeks Marine has a history of employing NTCC students and graduates.

Allison Godfrey (Covington) and Brandon Jarrell (Bay St. Louis, MS) were selected to receive the prestigious Edward B. Hands Memorial Scholarship, which provides full tuition for 2 semesters for outstanding students enrolled in Maritime Technology or maritime-related fields of study.  The scholarship is dedicated to encouraging and developing future professionals in maritime transportation, oceanography, and other maritime-related fields. This scholarship was established by Hands’s wife, Hilda Hands, in memoriam and tribute to his dedication to life-long learning and higher education.

Additional Northshore College Enhancement Foundation scholarships were presented to Cloey Hammond (Hammond), recipient of the Alphonse “Gator” Abadie Endowed Scholarship, Antonio Abalos (Ponchatoula), recipient of the Stuart Carlson Memorial Endowed Scholarship,  Donita Shannon (Hattiesburg, MS), Joan King Smith Memorial Endowed Scholarship, Cole Spillman (Bogalusa), Sullivan Vocational Endowed Scholarship, Davon Washington (Mandeville), Silky Sullivan Memorial Endowed Scholarship and Ricky Rossin (Walker), Walter G. Bumphus Endowed Scholarship in Information Technology.

The “Gators Give” Scholarships, which are fully funded through Northshore Technical Community College faculty and staff contributions, were awarded to Charlene Locke (Franklinton), Mallory Martin (Slidell), Sabor Johnson (Denham Springs), Michelle Douglas (Bogalusa), Tina Nuzzo (Covington), Aisha Wright (Greensburg), and Gary Andrews ().  The “She Means Business” Scholarship, supporting female students in STEM, Health Sciences, Business, and university transfer pathways, was awarded to Alexandra Wood (Mandeville).

Grant White (Mandeville) received the Northshore Home Builders Association / Louisiana Construction Education Foundation Scholarship in Construction PathwaysThe Lee Memorial Automotive Technology Scholarship was awarded to Jamaal Jiles (Mandeville), and the Northshore Mustang Club and Banner Ford Scholarship in Automotive Technology was awarded to Jacob Evans (Hammond).

New scholarships this year included the Jimmy Ryan, IV, Memorial Scholarship in Electrician, awarded to Cory Travis (Greensburg), the Junior League of Greater Covington Scholarship awarded to Laura Lindsey Williams (Mandeville), and the Caleb David Page Memorial Scholarship, awarded to Hannah Himel (Mandeville).

In addition to the scholarships provided through the Northshore College Enhancement Foundation, the Gene Haas Foundation provided scholarships in Machine Tool Technology for Luke Cowart (Denham Springs), Logan Fall (Prairieville), Cole Stevens (Tangipahoa), and Lucas Yargo (Hammond). The college awarded Louisiana Veterinary Medical Association scholarships in Veterinary Technology to Sabrina Duncan (Mount Hermon), Dana Lirette (Madisonville), and Carly Tally (Franklinton). Colton Clontz (Lacombe) received the DXC Full-Tuition Information Technology Scholarship. The college also awarded DXC Information Technology scholarships to Andrew Kendrick (Baton Rouge), Amanda Lewis (Lacombe), and Justin Prevost (Hammond).

The program concluded with Dr. Wainwright’s presentation of the Patsy Wainwright Memorial Scholarship to Kelli Shoemake (Bogalusa), who was joined by her daughter Kaydence Shoemake for the celebration.

To learn more about the scholarship opportunities for Northshore Technical Community College students or to make a donation to establish or support a scholarship fund, please visit or call Mary Slazer, 985-545-1284.

About Northshore Technical Community College 

Northshore Technical Community College (NTCC) is a comprehensive college with a rich history of providing workforce training and academic pathways to universities across the state of Louisiana. Beyond the traditional classroom and workforce training opportunities, NTCC provides opportunities for students seeking our Adult Education, ESL, and YouthBuild programs.  NTCC is comprised of its Main Campus in Lacombe, Hammond Area Campus, Florida Parishes Campus in Greensburg, Sullivan Campus in Bogalusa, and the Livingston Parish Campus in Walker.  In 2015, NTCC was recognized by the Brookings Institute as the first in the nation for economic value of its graduates.  The Chronicle of Higher Education named NTCC in 2019 as seventh fastest growing colleges from 2007-2017.  NTCC was also awarded the Top 70 Places to Work in New Orleans by the Times-Picayune in 2018, 2019, 2020, and 2021. If you would like more information about the Northshore Technical Community College, check us out at  


This site provides information using PDF, visit this link to download the Adobe Acrobat Reader DC software.